Georgia Highlands College

WBCA Announces Selections to 2013-14 Board of Directors

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association recently announced coaches who have been elected or appointed to positions on the organization’s board of directors for the 2013-14 academic year.  GHC women's basketball coach Brandan Harrell was one of those selected.

Florida State head coach Sue Semrau will succeed Arizona State head coach Charli Turner Thorne as president of the association. Semrau has served the last two years as vice president/president-elect. Turner Thorne remains on the board of directors as past president, replacing Connecticut head coach Geno Auriemma whose term of service on the board ends.

Penn State head coach Coquese Washington has been elected by the membership as the new vice president/president-elect for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 academic years. Washington, who has served as treasurer for the past two years, will automatically succeed Semrau as president in the 2015-16 academic year. Kansas State head coach Deb Patterson has been elected to replace Washington as treasurer.

In other board of directors election results:

  • Toledo head coach Tricia Cullop and LSU head coach Nikki Caldwell were elected to NCAA Division I at-large positions.
  •  Lenoir-Rhyne head coach Todd Starkey was elected to the NCAA Division II Group I position.

The following vacant positions on the board of directors were filled by appointment in advance of the board’s April meeting in New Orleans:

  • Kent State head coach Danielle O’Banion was appointed to replace Notre Dame assistant coach Carol Owens as the Black Coaches Administrators (BCA) association representative.
  • Georgia Highlands College head coach Brandan Harrell was appointed to replace Seward Community College head coach Toby Wynn as the junior/community college representative.

The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.

Harrell is in distinguished company.  Below is the complete roster for the 2013-14 WBCA Board of Directors:

Executive Committee
Sue Semrau, Head Coach, Florida State University, President
Coquese Washington, Head Coach, Penn State University, Vice President/President-Elect
Matthew Mitchell, Head Coach, University of Kentucky, Secretary

Deb Patterson, Head Coach, Kansas State University, Treasurer

Connie Hurlbut, Senior Associate Commissioner, Western Athletic Conference, WBCA Committee on Basketball Issues Chair

    Charli Turner Thorne, Head Coach, Arizona State University, Past President

Board of Directors
Anucha Brown, NCAA Vice President for Women’s Basketball

Amanda Butler, Head Coach, University of Florida, Division I At-Large
Nikki Caldwell, Head Coach, Louisiana State University, Division I At-Large
Claudette Charney, Head Coach, Hillsdale College, Division II Legislative

Tricia Cullop, Head Coach, University of Toledo, Division I At-Large

Diane Dickman, Managing Director, NCAA Academic & Membership Affairs
Carmen Dolfo, Head Coach, Western Washington University, Division II Group II
Rich Ensor, Commissioner, Metro Atlantic Conference, Conference Commissioners
Kelly Graves, Head Coach, Gonzaga University, Division I West
Brandan Harrell, Head Coach, Georgia Highlands College, Junior/Community Colleges

Aaron Johnston, South Dakota State University, Division I Midwest

Mary Klinger, Head Coach, Rutgers Preparatory School, High School
Patricia Manning, Head Coach, Williams College, Division III At-Large
Joanne P. McCallie, Head Coach, Duke University, Division I East
Melissa McFerrin, Head Coach, University of Memphis, Division I Mideast
Lisa Mispley Fortier, Assistant Coach, Gonzaga University, Assistant Coaches
Kirsten Moore, Head Coach, Westmont College, NAIA

Danielle O’Banion, Head Coach, Kent State University, BCA

Martha Putallaz, Duke University, Faculty Athletic Representatives

Jennifer Rizzotti, Head Coach, University of Hartford, Division I Legislative
Vic Schaefer, Head Coach, Mississippi State University, Male Coaches
Mary Beth Spirk, Head Coach, Moravian College, Division III At-Large
Dawn Staley, Head Coach, University of South Carolina, Division I At-Large
Todd Starkey, Head Coach, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Division II Group I

Christy Thomaskutty, Head Coach, Emory University, Division III Legislative

       Coach Harrell during a game in the 2012-2013 season.

© 2018 Georgia Highlands College