Home (www2) > Teaching and Learning Center > Professional Development

Professional Development

Professional Development and Funding Opportunities for Faculty

Various opportunities exist for faculty to attend conferences across the USG and around the nation. Additionally, professional development ideas abound in the USG Faculty Resources area. The GHC Faculty Mini-Grant program provides funding each year for faculty to engage in research or pedagogical development, or to participate in a conference opportunity. Please see below for related deadlines and information.



USG Faculty Resources Page


Resources for Faculty from Jeff Linek, Director of eLearning

Accessibility and Section 508 Resources from the IRC website

*NEW! -- National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Programs for College Educators


GHC Faculty Development Mini-Grant Program Guidelines

GHC Mini-Grants are available to all full-time faculty members and librarians with faculty rank for the purpose of improving teaching and learning. Faculty members may apply for funds to support projects designed to enrich curricular development and/or facilitate instructional improvement. The deadline for applications is October 15, 2016. The deadline for AY 17-18 will be September 30, 2017. 

Awards will be made in amounts up to $800. Only one application per person will be accepted for review. Funds are specifically geared towards curricular innovation and pedagogical experimentation and cannot be substituted for the ongoing or normal costs of course delivery. Funds may only be used for travel purposes if it can be demonstrated that the travel would result in teaching/learning innovation. Simply attending a conference would not be considered in mini-grant funding; however, participating in a workshop that resulted in a project or innovation for classroom use might.

Use of funding (project design and/or implementation) must be accomplished during the current academic year.

Some, but certainly not all, examples of use of Mini-Grant funds are:

  • Development of instructional modules
  • Development of innovative pedagogues/techniques
  • Classroom-based projects
  • Honoraria for guests
  • Educational classroom-based field trips
  • Instructional media
  • Instructional materials (non-media)

All mini-grant funds must be utilized in accordance with the guidelines and policies regarding use of state funds. Here is a link to the state guidelines for reference: http://pur.doas.ga.gov/gpm/MyWebHelp/GPM_Main_File.htm. Be aware that any technology purchases will need to adhere to the appropriate IT guidelines and will require a technology purchase request.

Mini-Grant Recipients for 2015-2016

Katie Bridges

Karen Huggin

Meredith Ginn

Connie Watjen

Rachel Wall

Kathryn Garcia

Christina Wolfe

Dana Pergrem

Mark Pergrem

Maggie Murphy

Soumitra Chattopadhyay

Steve Stuglin


Mini-Grant Recipients for 2014-2015

Juliana Breithaupt

Allen Easton

Mark Knauss

Veronica Morin

Jasmine Olaner

Lisa Branson

Sean Callahan

Soumitra Chattopadhyay

Michelle Abbott

Chris Hart

Camille Pace



2013-14 GHC Grant Recipients:

Mini-Grant Recipients for 2013-2014 iPad Grant Recipient for 2013-2014
Karin Bennedsen Jeff Kozee
Lisa Branson  
Merry Clark  
Jayme Feagin  
Karen Huggin  


2012-13 GHC Grant Recipients:

Mini-Grant Recipients for 2012-2013 iPad Grant Recipients for 2012-2013
Shannon Bontrager Soumitra Chattopadhyay
Soumitra Chattopadhyay Merry Clark
Susan Claxton Teresa Hutchins
Meredith Ginn Krista Mazza
Sarah Hepler Devan Rediger
Asha Hill Maryanne Sandberg
Bronson Long Kim Wheeler
Travice Obas  


2011-12 GHC Grant Recipients:

Mini-Grant Recipients for 2011-2012 iPad Grant Recipients for 2011-2012
Shannon Bontrager Brian Barr
Jayme Feagin Susan Claxton
Meredith Ginn Scott Flynn
Asha Hill Sarah Hepler
Krista Mazza Joseph McCauley
Harvey Moody Mark Pergrem
Travice Obas  


GHC Recognition Program

Nominate someone through the GHC Recognition Program!

This program provides a range of opportunities for recognition. Newly added is the ability to recognize someone and have the individual receive the recognition award within the same month as your nomination through “Caught in the Act of Good Teaching," “Caught in the Act of  Caring," and “Caught in the Act of Good Customer Service.”

Along with our traditional awards, you may now nominate a Faculty of the Year, Employee of the Year or Department of the Year. You may nominate yourself or another who has completed a degree or professional certificate program within the past year.

The list of awards, nomination process, and other helpful details are located on the GHC Human Resource Website and from there linked to the Customer Service Website. If the award recipient is not to be recognized at Fall In-service, the selection event or timing is indicated in the details for the award.

Determining recipients for the awards will be members of the Recognition Committee: Sarah Hepler, Elijah Scott, Diane Langston, Jason McFry, Stephen Souders, Jonathan Twilley, Carolyn Hamrick, Laura Musselwhite, Todd Jones, Cathy Ledbetter,  Donna Mantooth, Lauren Baus,  Cara Kelly, Terri Cavender, and Ginni Siler.  Let’s reward committee members' hard work in putting this program together by having it take off with flying colors.

Go out and catch someone in the act of doing something good! You and I both know there are plenty of folks doing just that.


Dr. Renva Watterson


Page last updated: January 31, 2017